Scarface: On music -- and golf?

SicC

Dying Breed
Staff member
After nearly 20 years of rapping about drugs, murder and the outer reaches of paranoia and psychosis, Houston rapper Scarface has a new vice: Golf.

"I've played every day for the last three or four months," says 'Face, who was in town last week hosting a listening party for his new album, "M.A.D.E.," at downtown Detroit's The Woodward. "I play damn near everywhere I go. I would have brought my clubs up here, but it's too cold outside."

The golf course isn't the first place you'd expect to find the hardcore rap legend, whose subject matter tends to be as ice-cold as the Michigan winter that won't allow him to hit the links. But then there's little that's typical about Scarface, the one-time Geto Boy and online poker junkie -- he plays high-stakes games for play money on his BlackBerry -- who openly professes his fanfare of Pink Floyd, old Van Halen and alt-rockers the Smashing Pumpkins and Radiohead.

"I'm a musician, man. I'm like a dictionary of music," 'Face boasts, later proving it by rotating between guitar, bass guitar, drums and keyboard in a jam session with the house band at The Woodward in front of around 100 invited guests. The freestyle session included improvised riffs on old Crusaders songs and Scarface and Geto Boys material such as "Mary Jane" and "Mind Playing Tricks On Me."

When asked if he'd ever tour with a live band, 'Face blew off the proposition. "There's no market for that, man," he says.

He might be surprised.

Scarface -- born Brad Jordan 37 years ago -- is one of the most imposing figures in rap music. He has long rapped about the dark side of street life, commenting on suicide and depression almost as much as delivering over-the-top homicidal fantasies.

"M.A.D.E." is typically hard-hitting and unrelenting, indicative of the music he's made for two decades. "Boy Meets Girl" is not about two young lovers, but rather is a metaphor for the mixture of heroin and cocaine.