One Request: ¡NO MORE WHACK SHOWS!

Long posts normally bore people out and keep them from reading the whole thing, but this article was something I thought should be shared with you all. If anything, just read the stuff that's capitalized. Anyway, hope you enjoy:

Somethings To Ponder: No More Bad Shows-Rehearsal is Not A Bad Word

by Davey D

I have been doing this Hip Hop thing for over 20 years, and I finally had enough. For now on my motto is ‘No More Bad Shows’. I’m not sure what’s going on. Nor am I sure as to why, but with Hip Hop being more than 30 years old, there is no excuse for continuous bad shows and I’m sick of it…Over the years there have been more than enough examples of stellar artists who deliver tip top performances. KRS-One, Naughty by Nature, Outkast, Public Enemy, Kool Moe Dee, The Roots, Hiero and Run DMC are among those who get busy on stage.

In a previous column, I mentioned my conversation with rap pioneer Mele-Mel who broke it down and stressed the importance of being able to do live performances. His point was if an emcee can rock a party and have his performance felt then we really need to re-evaluate his emcee status.

Grandmaster Flash also spoke to this a couple of years ago when I interviewed him. He bragged about how back in the group's hey days they would pride themselves on going out on stage as an opening act for top tier groups at the time like the Barkays or Confunkshun, and rip their performances so hard that the crowd would be left exhausted. Flash noted that it wasn’t always a good thing to have them open up a show, because they would take advantage and win the crowd over. He talked about how the group would do their set and then knock on the dressing room doors of the next performer and wish them good luck while laughing because they knew it was hopeless for anyone who followed them.