I'm a writer, not a biter

Pittsey

Knock, Knock...
Staff member
By Mr. Davey D

By now all of us involved in Hip Hop have heard about the 2 disses Cam’ron launched at Jay-Z. For many, the one that stands out the most is not Killa Cam’s 7 minute song of personal attacks, but instead Cam’s narration of the ‘I’m Biter Not a Writer’ megamix which was done several months ago.

For those who are unfamiliar, this was medley put together sometime last year that illustrates certain rhymes that Jay-Z lifted from other artists-most notably the Notorious BIG and Snoop Dogg. Cam’ron replays this piece and with his humorous and yet stinging commentary, he left many with the impression that Jay-Z is a straight up plagiarist who creditability is shot because he violated one of Hip Hop’s cardinal rules ‘Thou Shall Not Bite’.

What’s interesting about this is, if you go back to Hip Hop’s early days before there were any rap records and this rule was first established, you would find a lot of emcees including myself devoted more then a few lines to warning other emcees to not bite our rhymes. Coming original was paramount, but if you took some time to really examine some of our early rhymes you find we were just as guilty as Jay-Z.

Many of us reworked old mother goose nursery school rhymes. Some of us bit double-dutch rhymes from our sisters. Still others generously lifted rhymes from verbal word games that our fathers and grandfathers played including; the Dozens, Signifying Monkey and the Sinking of the Titanic to name a few. If we’re to really gonna be honest many of us ‘borrowed’ and reworked choice rhymes that we heard on those early block party tapes featuring then well known and popular artists like Grandmaster Caz, Funky Four Plus One More, Mele-Mel, Cowboy, Kid Creole and the rest of the crew that made up the Furious Five MCs.