Exclusive Phraze Interview

HIPHOPisHERE.com caught up with rapper Phraze, who is about to release his debut album, for an exclusive interview.

Phraze’s debut album, Struggle N Strivin’, will be released as a digital download on November 20th. The real cd will be available in stores on January 1st, 2010.

In this interview we talk to Phraze about who he is and where he is from, the meaning of his name, his debut album, and more. Read the whole interview below.

HHiH: What up, Phraze? How’s everything going?

Phraze: Whats good, im good, just pushing forward the best way I can.

HHiH: Let’s start from the ground and get people to know who you are. Who are you and where are you from?

Phraze: My name is Ricky Mainda, I’m from this little town called Berrien Springs, in Michigan

HHiH. For how long have you been rapping? When you first started rapping, who were your main influences?

Phraze: I’ve been rapping since I was around 12 years old, but never pictured myself taking it to this level, as far as being serious with it. My main influences in rap growing up were, Big L, 2Pac, Eazy Big, Snoop, and so on, because they were real with it, and took shit from nobody.

HHiH: Why did you you pick the name Phraze?

Phraze: Growing up I was good coming with phrases, so I was brainstorming on name that would fit me for who I was, and wasn’t a common name, so I got Phraze.

HHiH: Let’s move on to Struggle N Striving’, which is your debut album. Tell us a little about what we can expect from the album. What kind of rap will we get to hear on it?

Phraze: Struggle N Strivin’ is an album about pain, struggle, rage, success, and peace, although the album is not a piece of my shoes that I’ve walked, and has exaggeration in it, I know there’s people out there that are stuck in that bubble, and I’m their voice. People may wonder why my first album is this deep, but it’s to open up eyes, and change to the current music.