7's Corner. ("where Subterranean meets Top-40")

7 Syns

I wanted to make my own little thread, to all fans both subterranean and top-40 heads. I'm gonna include here. Everything will have links, feel free to post and reply. Bullshit will be cleaned quicker then sweat on the court in an nba game.

Random news,
interviews and,
reviews.

Enjoy.
peace.

7 Syns

Artist: Jeru the Damaja
Source: http://www.sohh.com/thecore/read.php?contentID=7142&highlight=jeru

While prepping his 5th solo LP, Jeru The Damaja took time to chat with SOHH.com. In this exclusive interview, Jeru "comes clean" about touring, fickle-minded fans and Gangstarr.

While Jeru has seemingly disappeared from the mainstream eye, the Brooklyn lyricist has kept his name alive by consistently touring across the U.S. and overseas. The Damaja, who claims he performs roughly 100 shows per year, says overseas heads appreciate authentic Hip-Hop more than U.S. fans.

"I've been touring out there [overseas] for the last 14 years, 13 years. The crowds overseas are not as fickle as the people in the U.S. The people in the U.S., they always trying to keep up with what's going on. It's whatever the flavor of the day is. Out there, a person that's your fan, they're your fan for life," Jeru told SOHH.com. "So I'll go do shows this year, it'll be people that came to my first show 13 years ago with their little brother now. They're 30, they're little brother is 15 or 18 or something like that. It's a loyalty factor. They really wanna know what Hip-Hop is about. They believe what they read. So anything that's new is not a part of Hip-Hop culture to them. It's a fad and they wanna be down with the real culture."

With devoted subterranean fans still following him, Jeru is more than content. According to Ru, his last record, Devine Design has sold well over 100,000 units. With respectable numbers, the Damaja couldn't care less if the "106 & Park" generation doesn't acknowledge his contribution to Hip-Hop.